

Box 1740 Gimli, MB ROC 1B0 Ph. (204) 642-7578 Fx. (204) 642-7581 Email. eicd@mymts.net



East Interlake Conservation District 12th Annual Meeting Monday, December 4, 2017 Komarno Community Hall, Kormarno, MB

In Attendance:

Garry Wasylowski - Chair, East Interlake Conservation District (EICD) and guest Rick Gamble - Vice Chair, Netley/Wavey Creek Sub-district (N/W SD) Robert Green - Chair, Fisher River/Washow Bay Creek Sub-district (FR/WB SD) and guest Harold Foster - Vice Chair, Icelandic River/Lower Interlake East/ Willow Creek Sub-district (IR/LEI/W SD) & guest Gordon Grenkow - Citizen Rep., Rosser, G/P SD and quest Jim Hardy - Provincial Appointee Armand Belanger - Manager, EICD Brigitte Demarchuk - Administrator, EICD Audrey Boitson - Resource Planner, EICD Heather Alexander - GIS Technician, EICD Kathleen Hudyma – Summer Student, EICD and guest Warren Ostertag - Citizen Rep., Bifrost-Riverton, IR/LEI/W SD Don Vigfusson - Council Rep., Bifrost-Riverton, FR/WB SD Colin Bjarnason - IWMP WPAT for O5SC, Bifrost-Riverton Jim Leduchowski - Citizen Rep., Arborg, IR/LEI/W SD and guest Susan Smerchanski - Council Rep., Armstrong, N/W SD and guest Victor Dziedzic - Citizen Rep., Armstrong, N/W SD and guest Darryl Carry - Council Rep., Winnipeg Beach, N/W SD Don Pepe – Citizen Rep., Winnipeg Beach, N/W SD Laurie Hunt - Council Rep., St. Andrews, N/W SD Elmer Keryluk – Council Rep., St. Andrews, G/P SD Michael Sykes - Citizen Rep., Selkirk, N/W SD Bruce Henley – IWMP WPAT for O50J, Mayor of West St. Paul Brent Olynyk – CAO of West St. Paul Dave Romanow - Director of Infrastructure, West St. Paul Colin Crockatt - Citizen Rep., Woodlands, G/P SD and guest Scott Beaton - MHHC Mitchell Timmerman – Manitoba Agriculture Steve Strang – Red River Basin Commission Alison Sass – Red River Basin Commission

12.1 Call to Order

Garry Wasylowski called meeting to order at 5:25 P.M.

12.2 Approval of Agenda

<u>MOTION</u>: Be it resolved that the agenda be approved as presented Resolution 1080-12.2-17 Moved by: D. Pepe – Seconded by: L. Hunt

CARRIED

12.3 Approval of the December 12^h, 2016, 11th Annual EICD AGM minutes

MOTION: Be it resolved that the minutes be approved as presented

Resolution 1081-12.3-17

Moved by: R. Gamble – Seconded by: H. Foster

CARRIED

- 12.4 Chairman: G. Wasylowski
 - Welcomed and thanked everyone for coming. Chairman thanked the Executive Board
 - EICD is the leading CD with LiDAR
 - The province introduced the Sustainable Watershed Act. The new Act allows First Nations to join CD's. Conservation Districts will go through a name change to Watershed District
 - Attended the Consultations on Manitoba's New Watershed Based Policy Framework meeting in August. Things that were discussed:
 - * CD's would like to be more involved in Drainage;
 - * Modernizing the Funding Models;
 - * City of Winnipeg joining the CDs;
 - ALUS program now called GROW and CD's having advantage in running the GROW program because of LiDAR
 - Manager: A. Belanger (as per Power Point presentation)
 - Welcomed and thanked everyone for coming
 - EICD has been trying to meet the IWMP's goals such as the Quarterly Surface Water Quality program. EICD is partnering with Lake Winnipeg Foundation in sampling the Water Quality index for Fisher/Icelandic/Netley/Grassmere (2017 Preliminary Community Base Monitoring Data)

12.5 Supper

12.6 Presentation on Tile Drainage by Mitchell Timmerman, MB Agriculture

12.7 Elections of Sub-district Chairperson and Vice Chairperson

12.7.1 - Fisher River and Washow Bay Creek SD

PRESENT: Robert Green, Donald Vigfusson (2 out of 4 present)

A. Belanger opens floor to nominations R. Green Nominates D. Vigfusson as Chairperson seconds it Second call for Nominations Third and Final call for Nominations moves that Nominations Cease seconds that Nominations Cease Resolution 1082-12.7.1-17 CARRIED Nominated as Vice Chairperson seconds it Second call for Nominations Third and Final call for Nominations moves that Nominations Cease seconds that Nominations Cease Resolution 1083-12.7.1-17 CARRIED 12.7.2 - Grassmere and Parks Creek SD PRESENT: Gordon Grenkow, Colin Crockatt, Elmer Keryluk, Bruce Henley (4 out of 12 present) A. Boitson opens floor to nominations B. Henley Nominates G. Grenkow as Chairperson C. Crockatt seconds it Second call for Nomination Third and Final call for Nomination C. Crockatt moves that Nominations Cease E. Keryluk seconds that Nominations Cease Resolution 1084-12.7.2-17 CARRIED C. Crockatt Nominates E. Keryluk as Vice Chairperson G. Grenkow seconds it Second call for Nomination Third and Final call for Nomination C. Crockatt moves that Nominations Cease E. Keryluk seconds that Nominations Cease Resolution 1085-12.7.2-17 CARRIED

12.7.3 - Icelandic River and Lower East Interlake/Willow Creek SD

PRESENT: Harold Foster, Jim Leduchowski, Garry Wasylowski, Colin Bjarnason Warren Ostertag (5 out of 12 present)

B. Demarchuk opens floor to Nomination

H. Foster Nominates <u>G. Wasylowski as Chairperson</u>

C. Bjarnason seconds it

Second call for Nominations

Third and Final call for Nomination

J. Leduchowski moves that Nominations Cease

W. Ostertag seconds that Nominations Cease

Resolution 1086-12.7.3-17

CARRIED

CARRIED

W. Ostertag Nominates H. Foster as Vice Chairperson

C. Bjarnason seconds it

Second call for Nominations

Third and Final call for Nominations

G. Wasylowski moves that Nominations Cease

C. Bjarnason seconds that Nominations Cease

Resolution 1087-12.7.3-17

12.7.4 - Netley and Wavey Creek SD

PRESENT: Rick Gamble, Victor Dziedzic, Susan Smerchanski, Mike Sykes, Don Pepe, Darryl Carry, Laurie Hunt (7 out of 13 present)

H. Alexander opens floor to nominations

L. Hunt Nominates R. Gamble as Chairperson

M. Sykes seconds it

Second call for Nomination

Third and Final call for Nomination

D. Pepe moves that Nominations Cease

D. Carry seconds that Nominations Cease

Resolution 1088-12.7.4-17

CARRIED

R. Gamble Nominates <u>L. Hunt as Vice Chairperson</u> D. Carry seconds it Second call for Nominations Third and Final call for Nominations S. Smerchanski moves that Nominations Cease M. Sykes seconds that Nominations Cease

Resolution 1089-12.7.4-17

CARRIED

12.8 Election of EICD Executive Board Chairperson

PRESENT: Garry Wasylowski, Harold Foster, Robert Green, Rick Gamble, Jim Hardy, Gordon Grenkow (6 out of 6 present)

B. Demarchuk opens floor to Nominations

R. Gamble Nominates G. Wasylowski as Chairperson

G. Grenkow seconds it

Page 5

Second call for Nominations

Third and Final call for Nominations

J. Hardy moves that Nominations Cease

R. Gamble seconds that Nominations Cease

Resolution 1090-12.8.1-17

CARRIED

12.9 Election of EICD Executive Board Vice-Chairperson

PRESENT: Harold Foster, Robert Green, Rick Gamble, Gordon Grenkow, Garry Wasylowski, Jim Hardy (6 out of 6 present)

B. Demarchuk opens floor to Nominations

G. Wasylowski Nominates R. Gamble as the Vice Chairperson

H. Foster seconds it

Second call for Nominations

Third and Final call for Nominations

J. Hardy moves that Nominations Cease

G. Grenkow seconds that Nominations Cease

Resolution 1091-12.9.-17

CARRIED

12.10 Other Business

- Board Chair awarded Robert Green a gift in recognition of all of the years that he served as an Executive Board member since 2005.

12.11 Adjournment

Moved by L. Hunt that the meeting be adjourned at 8:16 P.M.

G. Wasylowski, Chairman

B. Demarchuk, Administrator